The HMDR Division has a growing awards program honoring members and projects. We have three awards:

  • Kenneth C. Topping Planning Innovation Award: This award will honor the best new approach to solving a hazard mitigation, disaster recovery, or resilience problem within the past two years.
  • Adrian Freund Lifetime Achievement Award: This will honor the most outstanding overall career achievement regarding hazard mitigation, disaster recovery, climate adaptation, and resilience for a veteran planner.
  • Jennifer Ellison Distinguished Service Award: This is our longest-standing award. It honors exceptional volunteer service to the Division. 
2020 Jennifer Ellison Distinguished Service Award

Jennifer Ellison

The inaugural Distinguished Service Award was given to its namesake, Jennifer Ellison. Jennifer is a planner at the Polk County, IA Public Works Department. Jennie was our first secretary-treasurer. In this role, she was instrumental to standing the Division up and developing processes and procedures that set us up for long-term success. 

2021 Jennifer Ellison Distinguished Service Award

Rich Roths

Rich Roths is a leading player in our professional development committee. When we lost our podcast host, Rich stepped up to lead the effort. Rich is also heading up an effort to develop a program of outreach from the division to university planning schools. In his semi-retirement, he has carved out a meaningful role that has made the rest of us proud. He is a model of productive volunteerism in retirement.

2022 Jennifer Ellison Distinguished Service Award

Allison Hardin

Allison Hardin is a founding member - and leader - of the Division. She was among our first Executive Committee Members, leading us in our formative years as our Chair. Allison also advocated for our involvement in the NOAA Digital Coast Project, which won a Divisions Council Award.

2023 Jennifer Ellison Distinguished Service Award

Kelly Pflicke

Kelly has been a member of the Professional Development Committee and a committed volunteer for years. Through job and role changes, she's steadfastly made time to help support all HMDR members in her spare time. Kelly is the Division's webinar coordinator, a role she originated and has helped institutionalize over the past few years. Kelly challenges us to provide high-quality, diverse educational opportunities to bring our members. She's helped us be thoughtful about what content we showcase and helped us document our processes so that anyone can lead a webinar.